secret garden

By freespiral

Wedding day

Ok - have uploaded this in response to the wedding day challenge - it's made me laugh anyway!!
Our wedding managed to upset nearly everyone! We were both teaching at the same school and decided to get married quickly (no, not for that reason!!) during the Christmas holidays so we could come back married. It was quite a spur of the moment thing as we hadn't been going out very long. We broke it to my parents. My father was delighted that I was going to be made an honest woman of and my mother was ecstatic at the thought of an Easter wedding - visions of marquees etc. We explained that we intended to get married in the next week at a registry office - **** hit the fan!!! To cut a long story short, a compromise was eventually reached and we did get married the next week but in a church (special dispensation from the bishop re banns). We had 12 people at the wedding including my grannie who flew over from Malta resplendent in lace and black velvet. We had a honeymoon of two days in Paris. I was ridiculously air sick going over and when we got there Paris was in thick fog. However, we returned to school married and caused much amazement from staff and pupils!

Here we are looking a bit shell-shocked after a rollercoaster week- himself looking rather pale and thin in his blue velvet suit and new haircut! Me looking a bit coy in my Laura Ashley nighty (another upset for my mother - sorry Ma!)

Oh yes - it was also New Years Eve - apparently no-one gets married on New Year's Eve!! We did and we're still married 33 years later :) ahhh!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.