Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Twisted Tree

Firstly, I must say a big Hronia Polla to all Michael, Michelle, Gabrielle/Gabriella and all the others who are celebrating their name day today.

In Symi the 8th November is one of the biggest name days of the year. I'm not even going to try to explain why but if you are interested this Wiki page is a start. On this day the majority of the island's residents will take a trip to one of the island's churches/monstries named for St Michael.

I went with a friend to the celebration at The Monastery of Roukounioti, which is another of my favourite walks and we joined in the feasting and then wandered around outside afterwards to take a few snaps before heading homeward.

Outside the monastery is a huge, ancient Cyprus tree which forms a wonderful parasol over a seating area and these are a few of its bows. I took an almost identical picture a few years ago but as I can't Blip that one, I was thrilled to be able to go back today to snap it again.

Thanks for the lovely comments and bits of advice I got on yesterday's lizard shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.