Amy and JP

Today was the end of an era for me.

For many years I have been cycling most days to have my breakfast toast in the Metropole cafe, not a stone's throw from the erstwhile castle. It was the alternative to eating alone, his Lordship preferring to breakfast some time before the cock crows.

I have waxed lyrical before about the cheery demeanour of the manager, JP and his partner the lovely Amy, endlessly amiable and smiling. It made for a delightful ambience in which to start the day.

So I was sorry to learn that they were both leaving to take up separate jobs, he to become Manager Nero at the coffee shop in Lothian Road and she to become a Queen of Cupcakes at a new shop opening up in Hanover Street.

I took the opportunity on this their last day to blip them together. I give you JP and Amy.
I hope they will both be happy in their new jobs. I intend to visit and make sure, but not for breakfast.

His Lordship and I will be leaving these shores in about 4 weeks for a travelling extravaganza over Christmas, which will unfortunately at some points require me to dress formally.
With his thespian tendencies, his Lordship has no problem with this, but any one who knows me knows that this is not my scene at all.
I'm sure my problem with dressing elegantly all springs from being short and wider than I would like. Whatever reason, the thought of long formal dresses makes me become faint with apprehension.

I have put off hunting long enough for something suitable, but needs must, and so it was down to that Saintly Shop this morning to purchase a long skirt which would pass muster with his Lordship. I'm still a bit doubtful as I have the horrible suspicion that it makes me look like a troll, but at least it's one less worry to cope with.

Now I must get wired into writing Christmas cards..... yes I know it's ridiculously early, but 4 weeks can disappear in the twinkling of an eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.