just be

By justbe

John & Priscilla wait patiently in wax.

These are two of my most cherished Thanksgiving decorations. Old wax candles from probably the '30s that were molded and painted to resemble a Mayflower Pilgrim couple said to be part of a famous love triangle. For as long as I can remember they have been displayed here in November, the former home of my maternal grandparents. As a child I spent the holiday just down the street in a house you can see from here, with my paternal grandparents and my three cousins and family from Connecticut. Those folks are the ones with the Pilgrim blood, but the coolest decorations were always here with the old salts from Maine.

The Coutship of Miles Standish tale...this is all local dirt, hundreds of years old.

Turkey update, still thawing, still a point of interest to a small golden furred imp, but it's safe.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.