La vida de Annie

By Annie

Another day...

... at the coalface. The queue waiting to enter the main doors are not jurors; we have a separate side entrance. A full day hearing the summing up by the advocates and the judge, and starting deliberations in the jury room. It's a highly emotive case and most of the jurors have an extreme and fixed opinion on how it should turn out, but I don't feel I can go along with the majority. Do I stick to my guns or follow the herd? I hate conflict and find it really hard to argue with people, especially basically decent ones like these whom I've come to know in our shared confinement all week. The required unanimous decision not being reached, we'll be back in our little discussion room on Monday morning, where we'll stay for as long as it takes; not looking forward to that one bit. Still, it's the weekend now, and I have a pleasant diversion to look forward to....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.