Northern Exposure

By Northern

Skaters

I often think of this painting when I look at our black ducks against a snowy background. Especially when they are running and they're necks are stretched out and feet are flying about. However I've never yet managed to catch a pic of them in the right pose. This morning they were practically chapping on the window for their breakfast and Muddle at least stood still enough for me to get halfway near the pose.

Schools are closed here today. We had ran out of milk, which we could have coped without but the boys were craving hot chocolate and it gave them an excuse to get wrapped up and set off on a snowy expedition. Meanwhile I set about making a huge pot of lentil soup and an ovenload of bread (for some reason being snowed in has that effect on me).

The boys returned over 2 hours later. The trip to the shop and back shouldn't really take more than an hour, even if you take your time. When they did get back it was with a burst milk carton and tales of having slipped and fallen on it.

Anyone else think there may well have been an hour or so spent sliding up and down the brae????



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.