Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Twinkling Lights

Twinkling lights make everything prettier. They add a sparkle and a shine and remind me of two things:

1) The holidays. Such a fun and festive time. And.....

2) My Grandma and her glittery sweaters. What I wouldn't give right now to have my Grandma and her glittery sweaters back here in my life. Sitting next to me. Laughing at my funny little comments. Adding funny little comments of her own. Hugging me close. Filling my heart with that love that makes my eyes fill with tears so often now that she is gone. Always in my heart every single day but gone from our daily lives. And I truly feel that her absence leaves me just a bit off balanced even though it has been close to 15 years. She was a one of a kind. Time has eased the pain but wow, when I really think of her as I am right now, I get a pain in my heart. My Grandma. She showered us with love. She was protective when she needed to be. And most importantly, she is one of the women in my life who showed me at such an impressionable age, how to live with grace and compassion. What an incredible Great Grandma she would have been to my kids.

And to think, when I typed in 'twinkling lights', I didn't even know that all of these words and feelings were about to begin pouring out. The beauty of being able to keep a daily journal. And how I treasure the photos that help to bring these important emotions to the surface time and again. Her legacy lives on in me. And I will place as much importance in being a Grandmother someday and she did for the 18 years that I was fortunate to have her in my life. Her legacy will always live on. Twinkling lights. I love you Grandma and I know you are looking down on me with a big smile right now. This blip is for you!

***I'd like to welcome a new blipper to the blip world. A very good friend of mine who has an incredible interest in photography and a true talent for storytelling. You can find him here. (Vine to Vine: 6ft Monkey)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.