secret garden

By freespiral

The blue thread

A bitterly cold day, no more snow but icy untreated roads so no school! A bit of snow and we're all flummoxed! So I was fairly domestic and did a few useful things like clean out the kitchen dresser - a necessity as there was mouse evidence, and this in spite of three ferocious cats. It's always interesting, and occasionally alarming, to discover what's been gently festering at the back of cupboards.
I braved the roads and went for a walk. It was very grey and very cold. When I came down to the sea I saw this and immediately thought of Dr T's scarlet thread but in my case, it was a blue one! I think this is significant. I also thought it rather interesting as it was attached purposefully to a tree but seemed to have nothing at the end. When I returned later it had gone. Now I must find out about Little Blue - blue you see, it's all connected!!! if you havent a clue what I'm going on about check out the link and all will be revealed, or partly revealed depending on how you look at it!

The other interesting thing on my walk was to spot a guillemot. I saw a large bird bobbing in and out of the water an had no idea what it was so I tried to blip it. Not very successful as it was way out and each time I got organized it went underwater. However I did get a good enough image to identify it when I got home. I'm taking part in the birdwatchireland garden bird survey and want to include him but I think that could be pushing it.
Edit: Further research has proved that it wasn't a Guillemot at all but a Great Northern Diver - possibly even more exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.