The Underground Tour

By undergroundtour

Tradition

My partner and I went walking through downtown tonight, so I could get some shots and so we could do some holiday shopping and have a beer :-) There were lots of holiday decorations to take photos of, but my mind kept coming back to the assignment for this week of tradition. I have a couple of holiday traditions:

I must play the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack all day every day until the holidays are over and no one can comment about it. :-)

I must watch every animated TV holiday cartoon, and therefore my partner must watch with me, AND be properly enthusiastic. :-)

But the word tradition to me suggests religious tradition. Probably because I was raised high episcopalian and I went to Catholic school for most of my elementary and high school years. I'm not very religious now, but I thought this statue of Mary in front of a church in downtown fits this definition of tradition from Merriam-Webster:

tradition (n). a belief or story or a body of beliefs or stories relating to the past that are commonly accepted as historical though not verifiable

edit: bikerjim pointed out that today is the Feast of the Immaculate Conception .... wow, so I didn't know that when I took the photo, perhaps its divine blip intervention!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.