Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

To Contrast: a Bird

"How vain painting is - we admire the realistic depiction of objects which in their original state we don't admire at all."

- Blaise Pascal

The same could perhaps be said of photography, but I would disagree with Pascal here (not the first time nor indeed the most vigorously I disagree with him, I might say): the beauty of the representation (painted or photographed) is not in the object, but in the re-presentation.

Anyway, my first thought was to take a picture if the blue sky, as it was such a change from days and days of grey and rain. Then I saw a wee bird in this tree. With just my iPhone I couldn't get a good picture of the bird itself, but with some cropping, b&w and high contrast, I rather liked the overall look of this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.