Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Mandarin Duck

It's been a cold foggy day today, not a day for going out or bird watching, also not a day for going to the dentist and having a wisdom tooth out but Mrs L had to, so I volunteered to accompany her to get a blip to provide moral support.

I thought I'd come back with a foggy and/or frosty blip, but as I was wandering through the grounds of Hertford Castle, in among the Mallards looking to be fed was this rather gorgeous Mandarin Duck. In Britain they are the descendants of captive-bred ducks which escaped or were deliberately released and now we have a feral population of around 7,000 birds.

With the blip done I returned to the dentist to provide the appropriate moral support and drive Mrs L home. She's just finished her tea and is engrossed in University Challenge, she seems fine at present, but the anaesthetic is still to fully wear off.

Even more gorgeous in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.