Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

See me

"My eyes are foggy, Mama."

A year ago, I realized that your eyes may not be showing you all there is to see in the world. I cried at the realization that you may need glasses and that your perfect little self would somehow be changed. Silly I know, but it's how I felt. When we went to the doctor, she said that you were fine but needed to come back in a year when you start school.

So now a year has passed, and today we saw a new doctor, who we really enjoy and appreciate. She tested your beautiful brown eyes and determined that the world you see is very different than the world I see. You have an astigmatism in your left eye and are far and near sighted. You will have to wear glasses every single day, and I know you are excited now, but I'm sure the newness of it all will wear off soon enough.

I have no idea what it's like to not be able to see well but will support you in any way I can. I realize now how the issues in school match up perfectly to not seeing clearly or accurately and how terribly frustrated you must be because of this. Your trouble in circle with sign language watching the teacher's hands and when you are supposed to be copying the teacher's drawings are both obvious difficulties for your sweet little eyes.

I look forward to speaking with your teacher tomorrow so she knows your limits until your glasses arrive. She is the one who recommended this new doctor, so she understands.

I know you are excited and cannot even imagine what a two-week wait means, so I hope it comes soon enough for you. I am happy you chose your new glasses, so that you will care for them and love them.

I want you to see the world and be confident. I hope these "new" eyes can give you that confidence so you can soar. And next time I take your photo, it will be clear instead of foggy and hopefully include a little smile.

I love you my baby, Aayush.

Mama

Update: I wanted to remember this one. As I laid him down to sleep tonight, he whispered: "Can I marry you?" I said, "No, honey. You will grow up and marry someone young and beautiful like you." Him: "Like L (girl in class)?" Me: "Yes, maybe." :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.