Instography

By Instography

Type 55

On the face of it this is quite a shite photo. I have plenty of excuses that I won't bore anyone with but of all the shite photos I could have taken, I opted for this one because I remembered that yesterday I corrected a mistake I made when I was selling my film cameras. When I sold the 5x4 camera I forgot that I had two boxes of Polaroid Type 55 film in the fridge. They've been there since I don't know when. One of them moved house with us 7 years ago and expired in November 2003 and the other expired in January 2005.

Anyway, in the box with the 5x4 was the Polaroid film back without which the film is useless. But I still have a 5x4 camera - this one. A Zero Image pinhole camera that can vary from a focal length of 25mm to 75mm and is held together with elastic bands.

Type 55 film is very rare. It hasn't existed since Polaroid went bust and it sells for silly money on eBay. There a listing just now offering a box that expired in 2003 for £80 - about double what it went for new.

Soon I'll need to decide how to use my 39 sheets of film. It feels like a burden. It's great film that makes lovely distinctive negatives. It shouldn't be wasted. I'm open to ideas but I think I need to consult an academic, an artist and a doctor. I'm worried about using it in a pinhole camera. I'm thinking about buying a good 5x4 to sell it again when I've taken my 39 photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.