TeeJay

By TeeJay

Mohican

Went to Pounawea Inlet this morning where there were dozens of birds feeding. I took an awful lot of shots (whilst whining the whole time that I want a bigger zoom lens). My favourite is this chap with his crazy hairdo, who appears to be eating his own reflection. A Royal Spoonbill, who was there with about a dozen of his mates.

After we'd been to the Inlet we went around to Surat Bay where I hoped to see sea lions - no luck! Then on to Jack's Bay to check out the blowhole. Alas the track defeated me, I didn't get all the way over the mountain so I don't know if it was blowing or not.

However on my walk I did see the smallest weasel I've ever seen, carrying half a mouse. He was only about 6 inches long and the mouse was nearly as big as he was. He dropped it and ran when he saw me, but I stayed still and the cheeky blighter came back to get it and carried it off into the grass. I frantically ripped off my lens cap, turned on the camera and took photos - unfortunately all blurred.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.