Weighty matters

Will the university I work in need buildings in 10 years time? It might need some but I reckon it will need online technologies we haven't begun to dream of more.
If you have young kids and they decide to go to university their experience and way of engaging with it will be vastly different to now, let alone when I was a student.

If a new building costs 20 - 30 million NZ dollars now, imagine what 1 - 2 million of that could do invested online. Why do we keep emphasizing bricks and mortar when tomorrow will be a different place? It's not that buildings will be unimportant, I just think the emphasis will be different.

It's funny what you think of when you wander around buildings.

A hot day and I'm loving the heat. It's 10.15pm and the doors are still wide open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.