Zippity doo dah

I'm really enjoying this time of year. I'm loving the heat (maybe not the wind) and feel like I'm achieving good things in the final couple of days at work for 2010.

We've had a roaring nor'weaterly wind for most of the past 3 days. It dawned calm and I thought I'd bike to work. Literally a minute before the windsuddenly cranked up from a light zephyr to a strong gusting wind.

I hesitated but headed off. The head wind wasn't too bad cycling into work but within an hour or so it was gale force. On my lunch time wander around campus I was amazed at the amount of tree damage and debris everywhere - leaves, bark, twigs and some quite large branches (large enough to make my eyes water if they happened to 'clonk me in the back of the head).

Biking home was 'interesting'. The tree damage along the way was astounding. Thankfully it was mostly a tail wind but I knew in some places I'd cop it side on. One or two hairy moments but all was well and I was grateful to get home.

Once home I was happy to explore the zip on my Icebreaker jacket from the calm of indoors. I can have enough of intrepid ;-)

I'm not long home from an unexpected evening out for dinner. Very, very nice. Too late to comment and catch up with you tonight, but tomorrow night I'm home.

Keep warm/stay cool (depending on your climate)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.