Sunset at Birdling's Flat

This is a special blip for me. Last evening (I'm doing a breakfast time back-blip) be@nz and I headed out to Birdling's Flat. It's a 1/2 hour drive from Christchurch, tucked in at the southern base of Banks Peninsula on the East Coast of the South Island, NZ.

What made this special for both of us was we watched the sun set on the East Coast over the Pacific Ocean, not the West Coast over the Tasman Sea, where we would normally watch the sun set over water.

This is as far south as the sun will set and together with the curvature of the earth, this is what we stood in awe and watched. Thanks be, I'm glad we went. :-)

There was so much to blip at Birdlings - old sheds and cars, wild flowers and plants, stones, driftwood.... Well worth another trip ;-)

As the sun dipped below the horizon I watched a couple of dolphins 2 or 3 metres off the beach.

Magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.