ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Smile for the camera!

I find that Boxing Day is always quite a weird day. The day after the day before. Still a holiday, but not quite so much of a holiday. Everything feels quite Christmassy still, but a little illicitly so. And I hear of people standing in queues at ridiculously early times in the morning waiting for Next to open... Well, I was still tucked up in bed, soundly asleep at that time of day. I don't remember the last time I have laid in bed beyond 8am two days in a row. Lovely!

After waking slowly, I found that morning coffee was just behind breakfast, holding hands. With the warmth of the mince-pie still glowing in my stomach, mum, dad, Liz and I headed out to the annual Boxing Day Grantchester Barrel Rolling Competition. The mens' category was once again won by the Red Lion, but the Girls lost their crown to the Blue Ball. I had the camera, so managed to keep active getting in position to take a shot, and then jumbing out of the way before being mown down by an out-of-control barrel. The other three didn't ave such motivation, and were looking a little blue after the best part of an hour spectating.

So it was with grateful, numb toes that we crossed the threshold into the Red Lion. (more) Free mince-pies to celebrate the mens' victory, with a mulled mug of mulled wine each. Liz gossipped, and Mum listened, relaxed. I enjoyed the moment in which I could point the lens at her without her face turning into a stone-cast scowl. Dad went off to check out the facilities. Upon his return, I can only assume that he shares some of my sentiment: Boxing day is quite a weird day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.