Day 1 - A new blip year

A HUGE THANK YOU to all that left me such beautiful congratulatory comments on my 365 blip yesterday. I'm not sure if I'll be able to thank you all in person, but I will try. And another thank you to all that subscribed to me too. :)

Now here goes what I wanted to say yesterday.....

I started blipfoto in December of 2009 with a little point and shoot Canon PowerShot. I had just bought it because the sensor on my old one had a giant chunk of dirt that I had no idea how to get out. I have always loved taking photos, but I didn't understand all the lingo.

F-stop, aperture, ISO, depth of field, catch light, high dynamic range (HDR), long exposure...those terms were all completely foreign to me. In January 2010, I could stand it no longer and used some of my small business funds (I used to do web design) I'd been saving to purchase my Canon Rebel. I got a whole kit from Ebay, which included all sorts of goodies and even a tripod.

I was instantly intimidated by the camera and had no idea how to take decent photos. I felt like crying sometimes and giving up. I was frustrated that I purchased something so expensive, and I couldn't even make it work right. We then took a trip to visit my family in AZ, where both of my aunts are photographers. They showed me a few tips, and then I went out and about to practice. I started feeling better about my images, but I was still confused.

Over the coming months, I spent countless hours on blip analyzing everyone's camera data (well those who share that is). I figured out from Flashead how to do fire with long exposures, which was one of my proudest moments. Oh and here's where I lit the boys' feet on fire. I also joined RedBubble.com, where many share their camera details also.

At one point, I was certain my camera was no good because I couldn't take a decent landscape photo to save my life. So I purchased a beautiful book about Ansel Adams (my favorite) and landscape photography. I figured out that I was shooting with the wrong f-stop! No wonder the edges of all my photos were pixelated and blurry.

In May, I started my facebook page Inspire Designs Photography. I had no idea what my real goal was to be, but I knew I wanted to get my photography out in the world.

In July, we flew to North Korea, Fiji, New Caledonia and then Sydney, Australia. I was so overwhelmed by all around me. I cannot wait to go back with a renewed understanding and knowledge of photography. I've learned so much more from even that point until now.

So my 365 days were not just moments in my life, but it was an incredible journey that has brought a smile to my heart. My photography makes others smile. People enjoy it in their homes and in their work places. It is important to me, and it is all mine. It has taken time, but I am also no longer bothered when others do not like my photography.

My husband and I came up with an incredible idea this morning. It involves his home country, the Fiji Islands. We had all sorts of ideas flying around the breakfast table. It would be an absolute dream if we could pull it off. I think it might just be what helps me focus this year. A perfect New Year's resolution. I'll tell you all about it as I go. :)

With such uncooperative weather we are having and alerts of wind and snow, the boys and I are resolved to stay at home. So with a promise of hot cocoa and a kiss, I managed a little photo shoot with my oldest in the natural light of our dining room.

I am also looking forward to photographing a little girl for her 4th birthday this week. I don't get to photograph girls much, and her eyes are an incredible and brilliant blue, which I don't see much of in my brown-eyed house (well except for me.)


P.S. I just realized my year ago today photo! How cool. I am excited to see them every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.