I Witness

By KangaZu

The C-Word

Today's photo is dedicated to all those who have suffered through cancer and have lost a friend or loved one to it.

I, for one, am a two time survivor of cancer, which always makes me feel guilty for being here when so many have not survived. My first bout with cancer was when I was only 14 years old (1978) and was diagnosed with osteosarcoma, which is the most common primary malignant bone cancer.  How do you tell a 14 year old that they are going to lose their left leg to something that is foreign to them and unseen?   And then have to go through chemotherapy on top of that? Then after 27 years of being cancer free, I was diagnosed in 2005 with lobular sarcoma in my left breast.  Because of my prior cancer history, I opted to have a bilateral mastectomy with reconstruction. And also needed chemotheraphy.

So as you can see I have lost quite a bit to this awful disease. But the worst thing that I have ever lost to cancer was my dear, sweet Dad. He lost his battle in 2001. I made this wall hanging as a tribute to him and as a remembrance to all others.    The different ribbon colors are for awareness for the following:

Brown - Colon cancer (in honor of my Dad)
Pink - Breast cancer
Pink & Blue - Male breast cancer & Thyroid
Lavender - All cancers
Yellow - Bladder cancer (for someone very close to me) & Sarcoma/Bone cancer
Teal - Ovarian/Cervical/Uterine cancers
Lt. Blue - Prostate cancer
Purple - Pancreatic cancer

I have back blipped the last two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.