Plus ça change...

By SooB

New Year, New Shandy

Much fun in the karaoke last night. I've spared you the glorious shots of singing, Mick Jagger impersonations and (for a reason I don't remember) Mr B kneeling on the floor howling with laughter. Here instead is New Year's Day lunch by the Thames and a restorative shandy. Happily (?) terrible indigestion kept me relatively sober last night so this morning was much less painful than it might have been.

Mr B and I took it in turns to sleep through the day though - since my alarm call for Sunday morning is a horrific 04.45.... Mr B booked our flights back to France despite my pathetic cries that that would be a horrible time to get up so soon after New Year's Eve. And, as it turns out, he will not be coming with us but will instead be lounging around for the day and travelling by first class rail back to Scotland instead. (Though as he's going back for a funeral, I can't really complain.)

Another lovely New Year with our gracious hosts. They are threatening to make us host once we are properly set up in France. I don't know about that: they set a high standard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.