Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Rapping Raven

"suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door."


- from The Raven, by Edgar Allen Poe (and as quoted by Eric Draven in the movie The Crow)

This afternoon I went looking around the hospital grounds for birds, and happened upon a murder of crows. They flew off before I got close, and one came back, flew around me, and landed in a tree overhead. I hung around but it didn't shift ... until I went to walk off, whereupon it flew in a big circle just avoiding my frantic clicking, and landed back in the same tree.

The bugger. ;-)

However, when they first flew from post to roof I caught this shot, which cropped a bit, I think looks pretty cool in silhouette with the outstretched primaries at the wingtips.

I just went outside a few minutes ago, having heard the weirdest sound. When I shone a torch at our Banksia, I saw an enormous bat O_O But I didn't manage to get a photo, as when I came back with the camera it took off. Never mind - I'm quite happy with this raven 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.