a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

Balance

Woke up this morning expecting there to be snow on the ground, but was surprised to see the sun shining through the clouds and no snow! We are still expecting snow this afternoon, just later than they had predicted.

I decided to look outside at the feeders this morning and found this bird on the ground eating the fallen seed. He was off-balance, falling and tipping, but he would get right back up. After a few minutes of watching him, I realized he was standing on only one leg.

He flew up to the shepards hook and sat on top, holding on with just one foot when I snapped this picture. I don't know if he's missing a leg or if he is hurt, but he seemed to be managing quite well!

I tried to figure out what kind of bird it is....in the light, his feathers seemed an irridescent blue but looked more black when on the ground in the shade. This picture makes him seem more blue than he looked, but I think it's the way the light is hitting him.

Any guesses? The closest I've come up with is a cowbird, but I'm not too sure.

Happy Friday everyone!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.