High Noon

I've always been of the ilk that, when we get snow lying like it was this morning, thinks the snow's not going to last and sit cosily watching all the neighbours huffing and puffing and shovelling the stuff into mounds. But, this stuff's now been with us five weeks and I was rather lax in moving the first couple of batches, which resulted in a solid sheet of ice taking up permanence at the end of the drive. It almost disappeared this week too, before we had another night of constant snowfall last night.

So it was synchronised shovelling early this morning all up and down the street in lieu of a visit to the gym (I wasn't actually going to the gym, it's just that it was the most exercise I've had in a while). And guess what? It's been snowing again the past couple of hours and everything's white again. Should have held out that little bit longer...

Anyway, as I had all the winter gear on, I headed off with the camera for a wee daunder around the village to get some nice wintery snaps in. I only fell twice too (there's a lot of slippery ice hidden under the fresh snow) but I don't think many people saw me. This one was taken at 12pm on the dot as I returned for my bacon and black pudding roll.

The other day I was bemoaning how horrible everything looked this week with the snow shrinking away to reveal all the crap underneath, but today in the sunshine, everything looked perfect again. Still, it can go away any time it likes now. Enough already.

PS: Anyone having problems with blipfoto loading just now - this has taken nearly an hour to post...!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.