Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Turn the Heat Up

Sunset over the Campsie Hills tonight - looks deceptively warm but I can assure you it felt all of the minus 8 degrees when fiddling with the camera controls on this shot.

I just heard someone on the telly using the analogy that this cold snap and all the snow was like having your in-laws visit at Christmas; nice for a short while, but they've now outstayed their welcome. I don't think I agree entirely with that one. I like way everything looks encased in white. I like the edginess of driving around in these temperatures. I like that everyone has a common point of reference when it comes to talking to each other. I like the fact that no matter where you look, there's something awe-inspiring.

And I really like coming home to a cosy house, chucking the car keys away and tucking into some good old fashioned comfort food.

Of course, it IS bloody dangerous, it IS bloody cold and I'm bloody well not looking forward to the gas bill when it flops through the door in March, but I'm sure as hell preferring it to previous dreich January's.

Have a cosy weekend folks and, as the seargeant would say in most episodes of Hill Street Blues, "Hey, let's be careful out there!"

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.