Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

Where A Word Can Take You

A paternoster or paternoster lift is a passenger elevator which consists of a chain of open compartments (each usually designed for two persons) that move slowly in a loop up and down inside a building without stopping. Passengers can step on or off at any floor they like. The same technique is also used for large filing cabinets to store large amounts of (paper) documents or for small spare parts[1]

So, tonight as I walked through the city heading from the EastEnd to the SouthBank and the BFI to see The Big Sleep I decided to go off course and head to places I hadn't been before and tweet a photo to see what location would come up. Sadly, due to the iPhone being able to detect where you are down to a 100 yards, it doesn't come up with it meant that you could find me in some pretty standard places - Liverpool Street, Bishopgate and Spitalfields. But, I was to be found in the wonderfully named Farringdon Within. As I headed towards St Pauls I wondered if it would come with a place I love simply for it's name Paternoster Row. It doesn't. But, it did give me a really cool photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.