The Silvery Tay

I was in Dundee for a meeting today, and for some reason my journey north across the bridge and seeing the Law in the sun triggered a very vivid memory. On 25th December 1990, my first Christmas living in Fife, I received my first camera as a gift. I would have been 16 at the time - it's hard to imagine that was over 20 years ago!

It was a "supasnaps" 35mm film camera, with a build in flash and two different lenses selectable with a lever. It had advanced features such as DX coding, meaning it could "tell" what the ISO of the film from foil patterns on the film can.

It was family tradition to go for a stroll after lunch on Christmas day to work up an appetite for dinner, and we ended up at the top of the Law and I clearly remember taking photos from the very same spot as this one. They must be in an album upstairs somewhere, but I also have a scan of the negative on my computer and having just had a quick peek they are NOT good photos - but they are great memories.

I visited my parents in Fife on my way home - it was lovely to see them albeit briefly.

Thank you for indulging my reminiscence - although be warned I may inflict something similarly self indulgent on the bliposphere tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.