Royaume

These gateaux (on the left of the picture) are made for the festival of the three kings. That was last week but the boulangeries still have them all through January and today, especially, because it's Sunday. In each one there's a fève (literally a bean, but nowadays a small plastic figure) and whoever finds this in their portion wears the crown provided. Here in Le Grau d'Agde by the sea we bought one to take to friends who'd invited us to lunch. The sea was grey, but this woman was the cheeriest I've ever bought patisserie from! I asked if I could take a photo and she said it was a shame I hadn't been there earlier when the display was still full. I thought it still looked quite good!

A delicious long lunch with great food and conversation until we came home just as it was getting dark.

For the record: we saw mimosa flowers blooming in Roujan and in Bessan - the earliest we've seen them by a couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.