Rich Dyson

By EdinImage

Mystery and Allure

One of the great mysteries is how the synchronicity of life can conclude with an outcome unexpected at the start.

Today is my birthday, I am thirty-twelve and glad to still be hanging on to my late 30's. Despite it being my birthday, I had the dedication to the blipfoto in general and specifically the weekend blip challenge subject of mystery at the forefront of my thoughts. I had decided that I would feature the mysterious setting of Rosslyn Chapel as my subject and so took a drive out to capture this building shrouded in legend. Unfortunately, the only shrouding taking place in Rosslyn at the moment is the scaffolding covering most of the exterior and there is now a no photography rule inside the chapel.

I managed to capture a reasonable shot of the tomb in the churchyard for the Duke of Rosslyn and his family and was all ready to post this as my blip with some blurb about the Chapel being such a mysterious place blah blah. I touched the photo up and started to catch up on posting my photos from Friday and Saturday prior to posting my Sunday photo.

As I posted the photo from the 15th I received a call asking if I wanted to go to the Whisky Society for a quick birthday dram. Of course, I agreed and left the posting until I returned. The experience at the society is also one full of mystery, each month a new out-turn brings forward new flavours to taste, and on occasions enjoy to the point of buying a bottle. I am a fan of Speyside distilleries and particularly Glenmorangie and Longmorn so whenever there is new whisky from either of these I am always eager to taste. Unusually there wasn't a new Glenmorangie this month so I plumped for the Longmorn which as usual impressed me so much I treated myself. The name of the whisky fitted this weeks theme perfectly and so before I say good night to my birthday I had one more dram of Mystery and Allure.

This is, of course, my entry to the weekend blip challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.