School Daze

Travelator Monday.

Once I'd stepped out of the door this morning it felt like I'd stepped onto one of those that trundled on relentlessly but slowly all day until about half an hour ago. No pause, no sidetracking but with that feeling that everyone either side was gliding past unaided and getting there quicker.

After a frantic day it was a frantic dash back home to attend Euan's first parent's night at high school. I think he was dreading it as we sat outside the first classroom waiting to be called in (probably not as much as I was dreading the potential of sitting outside the next half a dozen doors watching the pre-arranged times slip away like school custard off a shovel). In the the end the dread was unfounded on either our parts as, despite a 15 minute overrun on the first appointment the others went to schedule and all Euan's teachers are happy with his progress. I only felt the need to bite my tongue once as the science teacher explained his 'old fashioned' preference for books in the science lab. That didn't particularly scream 'Curriculum for Excellence' to me and, thinking back to when I was a spotty faced first year in the science block, being able to mix, make, construct, experiment, burn, explode and wear a three sizes too big lab coat and goggles was one of the few joys to be had across the timetable.

To cover the fact that I didn't manage to take many other pictures today beyond this one of Euan making a bid for freedom after tonight's visit to his school, this has had it's pixels pushed to within an inch of their tiny lives.

Anyhow, off to have the rest of my tea supper now, very glad indeed Blue Monday's almost done for another year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.