dailykeith

By dailykeith

A load of bollards

On the way to work, two workmen shouted over to me and asked if there was an easy way to get a vehicle onto Cheltenham's Honeybourne Line footpath. At the point pictured it runs beneath the main road.

"Some bright spark has chucked all the cones from our roadworks down onto the path," one said. "If we can't get a vehicle down here, we're going to have to make several journeys."

The answer to their question was 'no', but I didn't hang around long enough to find out what happened.

All I know is that, no matter how many journeys it took them, their day will have been considerably better than mine.

I'm too tired to explain in detail, so here are the highlights:

* Sat on the 7am train waiting for it to leave Bristol, only for it to be cancelled because the brakes didn't work. Sound familiar?

* Onto the 7.30am train, running 10 minutes late, had to stand all the way

* Arrived 40 minutes late for work

* In the afternoon, a late breaking story meant my original work had to be ripped up. But changing THREE pages to accommodate ONE new story? Aaarrggh.

* Major computer problems lost me another 30-45 minutes

* Train home delayed by 25 minutes

* Walk from station very wet, very miserable.

But Mrs Dailykeith made me a nice meal and gave me a delicious glass of wine, so it wasn't all bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.