Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Occhi Verdi

Today is one of those days that I will store in my memory for a very long time. Sometimes you just have days like that. Days that feel like they were completely meant to be. Today was a day like that. A day filled with memories that will continue to make me smile years down the road.

Today, I met THE Occhi Verdi. My first 'internet friend' as we like to say. Before Blip, I wouldn't have even dreamed of ever meeting a friend via the world wide web. But a couple of weeks into blip, Occhi Verdi popped in on my page and left a comment that made me smile. So I went to her journal and checked it out and quickly realized that this blipper was someone who was highly thought of by other commenters and whose journals were filled with quick whit, humor, and kindness. So I subscribed. And suddenly blip became much more real to me. It wasn't just about posting a photograph anymore. I suddenly realized that there were actual people out there on the other end of blip. Considerate and thoughtful people taking the time to compliment the photographs that meant so much to me.

I found myself taking more risks with perspectives and angles because I was feeling my confidence as an amateur photographer grow. And this idea of 'real people' in the blip community really inspired me. Occhi Verdi in particular inspired me very early on when my camera was still pretty foreign to me. I was fascinated by the fact that she actually liked my photographs and had such nice and constructive things to say about them. Because each of her photographs were (and are) so creative, imaginative, and filled with emotion. She would beg to differ but I have found that most good photographers are very modest. And she is one photographer who tells a story with each photograph that she takes.

Over the year and a half that I have been on blip, I have met many wonderful blippers. People who I have even had the opportunity to meet. And my life has been enriched by this level of daily support and creativity. But Occhi Verdi, well O.V. was that blipper that I have always felt so much gratitude towards. She would never know how much her support strengthened my confidence behind the lens, but I always hoped that one day I could tell her and thank her.

Today I thanked her. In person. Today I spent the day with my first 'internet friend' and to tell you the truth, when I saw her and gave her a big hug.....it seemed as if we had been friends for years. Very bizarre and hard to understand but the friendship just seemed so natural and continued to evolve that way throughout lunch and our stop at the coffee shop. Of course adding to the special feel was the fact that we were with my fabulous friend 'MyEveryday' and another very good friend of mine. Four of us spending the afternoon downtown just chit chatting and enjoying one another's company.

We got out our cameras at the coffee shop and I really wish that I had taken more photos than I did but the chatting and laughing simply got in the way. I do realize that this photo is a little out of focus but like I said, these were moments to be lived rather than just captured. And of course this is a 'darling' pic of Occhi....especially with her camera in the frame. Every part of the day today just left me feeling inspired and grateful. Inspired to be surrounded by such creative ladies today and grateful in knowing that each and every one of them are a part of my life.

I know that I will always share a friendship with this spunky and sassy Texan. When you meet someone who has a way of instantly making you feel comfortable and is genuine and extremely funny....you know that those are the friendships to hold onto, even if the friendship spans several States. I know I say this all the time but God has really blessed me with quality friends. 'Gems' as I like to think of each and every one of them. My Mom said to me tonight, "You just have a group of really wonderful friends" and I had to respond with a huge smile and say, "I know. And I feel so blessed about that".

Occhi Verdi. This is a blip dedicated entirely to you because you are the first person here on blip who made this whole, 'photo a day', seem so real and worth the while. Friendships are 'meant to be' experiences and I fully believe that there is reason that we connected via blip. And don't you worry, when I am fifty and in need of some eye care, I will think to call on you. ha! Thanks for taking the time out of your weekend to hang out. What a fabulous day it was for all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.