Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

The Skyline From Powelton

This is the view of Center City Philadelphia's tall buildings from 32nd and Race Streets in Powelton Village, West Philly. Between the downtown buildings and my camera are the spaces made by train yard, highway, and river --thus enhancing the view. The site where I stood is a small park now, but I remember when a boarded-up hospital laundry plant collected dust there. It would be difficult to exaggerate how much the physical city has changed since I settled here twenty-eight years ago. The nine tallest structures you see here did not exist and this shot would have been dominated by a huge smoke stack on the right side of the frame. The highest thing then was Billy Penn's hat, barely seen here on City Hall Tower (left of center; framed by twin utility poles). I like this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.