horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Build it and they will.... Sleep...

The chicken run extension, save for a few snagging list items, is complete. The bottom part needs to be painted, with a step and some flower boxes put in front; a bar needs added to the door frame to stop it swinging forward, a high perch needs added, and a ladder needs put on the table which holds the chooks' house. All necessary cos the old girls couldn't abide by sharing the original permanent run with the new girls.

Actually, the old run received some attention as well - the weight of snow in December took down the roof that had held up for two years. I patched repairs that night, but cracks and holes were letting in water. New beams in place, new roofing on, and it's pretty much perfect.

This new run is about 2/3rds the size of the original biggie, but twice the size of the run that they stayed in on the lawn. It's also about 4 times the height... I'm quite pleased with my efforts. The concrete base laid by my own fair hand; the frames hand sawn and screwed together (okay, so I drilled pilot holes); the weldmesh hammered into place; the door hung beautifully.

I'm no artisan, it's rough and ready, and I'll leave the joinery to the professionals (he's very good y'know). But once I get into this I enjoy it. Slotting the frame together for the first time and screwing it into place, feeling how solid a structure it is, then attaching the roof and having it feel... Secure and weatherproofed. It's a really nice feeling to know it's something I've put together with my own hands (and on the evidence of the original it's something that will last). Makes me feel good about myself, which I needed after another crap day that had me snappy and aggravated heading home.

I need to start taking things in my stride. Which, granted, is easier said than done.

The Original Overgrown Area
Chooks inspect the cleared space
The Original Run (almost two years ago)
The extension begins (note the patched original run roof)
What they are moving from
And the two girls who benefit from all of this

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.