Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Just Got My First Complaint

I'd like to pretend there is a reason for this blip, but there isn't. I just switched the lights off, switched my flash on, and shot what was in front of me. Tried to use it as a reason to open up Photomatix and try to figure out what the sliders do. Converted to b&w there, then ran it through Lightroom for a levels tweak and a slight exposure increase to make up for that. Just trying to learn a few tricks in processing.

I've been thinking about yesterday's blip in light of some insightful comments made last night about Martin Parr's work - that The Last Resort was his most biographical work for it heavily featured themes/subject matter that were on his mind at the time of shooting. Made me wonder if yesterday's blip says something about me for having taken it and, if so, what. I'm not certain it's at all literal, tho I do think it is an important image for me, about me in a way. At least for now.

Back on the bus tomorrow. Blip may be from that, or it may be something else entirely. I don't know. Feel I have added some important images to the series recently. Also thinking with every shot, I'm getting more and more critical about what works and wht doesn't, and how things do and don't work when put together. Learning. Hence the need for a respite blip to let all that heavy thinking settle some.

You know how it is. ;-)

UPDATE: The local newspaper published this image, also used as a blip here. They've published images like this in the past by me with no problems. With this one, the guy phoned them up to complain that I'd 'committed an invasion of privacy' by making the image, and the paper had done likewise in publishing it. I figured someone would complain about the way I shoot eventually, but I seriously didn't think it would come from this image. It probably has to be the most positive candid image I've made. Oh well. It happens. The guys from the paper were cool with me about it, tho.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.