Edinburgh

If I had to live in a city, then Edinburgh would be my choice, I just love it. It seemed odd not visiting Becky and Rob now they are across the pond, but we had some time to kill before the Street Race today so Tony and I wandered the streets and walked up Calton Hill to see the view. It was very overcast in the morning and there was amazing mist right the way down the Firth of Forth, hanging just over the river. You can see it in the background of this shot taken from the top of the Nelson Monument on Calton Hill.

The race was enjoyable but I arrived at the finish to discover I had mispunched and was disqualified. There were two controls very close to each other in an intricate housing complex and I simply hadn't seen one of them on the map! Never mind, I wasn't going to let that spoil our brief visit (nor was I going to let the Newcastle and Spurs louts on the train spoil it either!)

Afterwards we chatted with orienteering pals awhile, lunched in the cafe in the crypt of St Giles Cathedral (to be recommended) before heading home.

Needs to be looked at in large!
I had to backblip yesterday's shot, but if you like sunsets, it's worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.