Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

'You've Got Mail'

Thank you to everyone for your concern about our daughter yesterday. She woke up this morning with a huge smile on her face and one simple request:

Can we have pancakes?

The pain was gone. Her antibiotics were working and she was ready to get going with her day. So I let her make up the pancake batter. She scooped the mix. She cracked two eggs (not in the ingredients but I had to have something healthy in there) and even picked out the egg shells that dropped in. I added the water and she did some of the stirring. When I put the two hot cakes on her plate buttered with syrup, she ate every last bite. Hooray our little girl was back to her usual happy self. Again, I thank God for modern medicine.

On the counter sat a few surprises for the kids. My husband had brought the mail in and there were three pieces of mail. A package for our family and a letter addressed to each of the kids. I can't even tell you how excited they were. The package was from their Grandparents. Fresh Oranges from Arizona. A whole box of them. And a little gift for the kids, card holders. They love putting their cards in 'card holders' when we play games. And then came the letters. The handwriting was from their HP and it was sent from HP and Nona. My son opened his letter and inside was a Dairy Queen gift card with his name on the front of it. "Woooooooooheeeeeeeeeeee" he shouted. Then my daughter ripped open her letter and found a Dairy Queen gift card with her name on it. "Can we go get a Dizzard (blizzard) now Mommy?" And my son said, "YES!!, now I can put this in my wallet next to my Subway card" (Subway card compliments of his Grandma).

The kids made a phone call to their HP and Nona to thank them for the Blizzard cards. My Dad told them that he had promised them blizzards when he was in town but because they ran out of time, he wanted them to be able to go and get one with their credit cards. And to my Mother-in-law, the kids owe you another phone call to thank you again for the game and the oranges. (And an apology for the tantrums they threw while I was on the phone with you). Our kids have very generous and thoughtful Grandparents who go out of their way to make them feel special and important. Pancakes and mail, what a nice way to spend a morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.