Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Pancakes

Earlier today my daughter said, "Mommy, my eee-a (ear) huts (hurts)". "It huts because I want pancakes". Okay I thought quickly, does her ear really hurt or is she just stuck on the fact that she really wants pancakes today. "I just really want pancakes" she said.

Shortly after, she started to get very cranky. She wanted to sit with me but then didn't want to sit with me. Wanted to lay on the couch but then didn't want to lay on the couch. And then she said it again, "Mommy, my eee-a huts". But this time without any mention of pancakes.

With her history of ear infections, I called the doctor right away and by this point, she was screaming. Screaming into the phone because she would not let me put her down. Needless to say, they got us in quick. And sure enough, the doctor could see a bulge on her eardrum. My poor little baby was in so much pain. Another ear infection. This one developed very quickly without her usual pre-symptoms. The next phone call will be to her ENT to schedule permanent tubes.

By the time we left the doctor's office, she was a mess. Absolutely melting down and who could blame her. I felt so bad for her. The sucker from the receptionist kept her distracted in the car for a short while. Unfortunately we had to go straight to the pharmacy for her medication instead of being able to just go home. She was not happy about that and was full on screaming as I carried her in one arm and held my son's hand with the other. And we got the looks. Oh yes we did. And then the prescription wasn't ready. "10 more minutes" they said. SCREAMING now!!! So I walked us all straight over to the Valentine's Day section hoping that the stuffed animals might calm her down. "Pick any one you want" I said. Anything to break the screaming cycle. She picked a puppy. We still had more time to kill. I told my son he could pick out a Star War's guy since she got to pick out her puppy. He loved that idea.

And then we heard my daughter's name over the loud speaker. They were paging us. Paging us because I have no doubt in my mind that they could hear her screaming from across the store. We grabbed a bag of pancake mix as well. She rarely eats when she isn't feeling well but I knew that she would eat pancakes. And I didn't even follow my 'New Kitchen New Rules' motto. I picked the Light and Fluffy with no nutrients added. It was just miserable seeing her in so much pain. And I know that by tomorrow morning, when she is feeling herself again, she will appreciate the fact that yes, we have pancakes. (The kind of pancakes that she absolutely loves).

---------------

At bedtime tonight during prayers, my son asked if there were a million Gods.

"Well if there aren't a million God's then how come God can live in the hearts of a million people all at the same time?"

Wow, that was a good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.