Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

'Look Mommy'

"Look Mommy, a wuhm" (worm)

Oh my gosh I had to go get the camera. My kids don't touch bugs or worms or anything from the ground that moves. My son branched out today and held a worm with my gardening glove on his hand. But my daughter, well she wanted to touch the worm. And then she wanted to hold the worm, and soon she was collecting worms in a bucket. Such a proud moment!

Today we had a 'family yard work' day in the backyard. Yes it was only 38 degrees outside and yes, I thought that my husband was crazy for wanting to power wash our back patio today but yes, we all ended up out there. I bundled up the kids and asked for their help digging up my weeds garden. It was just simply out of hand. And no, veggies did not grow there last summer. I dropped the ball on that little project. But after today, we are set. Tomorrow the kids and I are going to plant tulips. Tulips for the Spring. The first time that I have ever 'preplanned' our yard in January.

Being outside was very refreshing. It was dry so the digging warmed us up quickly and it just felt good to spend the afternoon outside instead of having to stay indoors to avoid the rain. And we got so much accomplished. The yard is totally ready for Springtime. I even power washed my beloved Hammock (power washing is a very therapeutic experience by the way and extremely rewarding). The kids are exhausted and have been tucked into their beds. And now we have the evening to hang out and watch a few fave shows.

Worms. I can not believe that our daughter likes worms now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.