secret garden

By freespiral

sight for sore eyes

Oh Lordy, I am wrecked!! Tired is the theme for the week this week isn't it, if I wasn't so tired I'd have put something together! Today's theme was magnets - just unbelievably exciting and total chaos. The local GAA (Gaelic Athletic Association) turned up unexpectedly at 11.30 bearing an enormous cake which they were taking round to all schools in the area, cutting off slices as they went for each child! A recruitment drive I think as you are expected to start playing football from age 7 upwards - girls too. The cake was actually delicious, chocolate with green icing (football turf!!).
I took my car into Jim for a service. It wasn't ready when I rolled up so I had three quarter of an hour to kill in Durrus. Durrus is one small street, one shop, four pubs and a post office! A bit of stealth investigation was attempted but nobody misses a thing here so I bought a bar of chocolate and the newspaper instead and behaved. Jim is a man of few words and those he does utter are in the thickest Cork accent I have ever heard. A conversation would go like this:
Me:May I book by car in for a service
Jim: Yes
Me:Tomorrow?
Jim: Yes
On car collection
Me: Is the car okay?
Jim: Yes
Me: how much does it cost?
Jim: call in during the week (at least I think that's what he said!)

Arthouse starts tonight. It's the latest Mike Leigh film but I can't remember any more details. Looking forward to a Ben and Jerry's chocolate brownie ice cream - outrageous!

Dull, grey and mild though there was a spectacular sunrise - all pinks, golds and mauves with nice reflections on the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.