jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Flying

You know the feeling... blipless... panic starts to set in... emergency photograph of dinner (nice dinner, recipe and picture here)... emergency photograph of boy eating dinner... and then...

Half an hour of pre-bedtime madness. Ben flying. Ben being.... an owl. Yes, an owl. And us having to try to explain to Ben that mummy would like daddy to be able to help out with providing Ben with siblings :/ so please don't jump just there. All good fun, if a little painful at times, and quite exhausting for daddy.

Thankfully the little owl is in bed, having told me (procrastination at its finest) of all the things the little owl would be dreaming of. Including, a "red one" and a "yellow one" although what the red one or yellow one actually is is anyone's guess. The dreams are also to include cars and helicopters (Ben is an avid fan of top gear already) and owls, mouse, gruffalo and trains and planes. And also daddy! But I didn't get a mention...

Before I forget... carrot and orange cupcakes!


So, today. What have we done? Not much. Ben said a very firm "NO" to the potty this morning, so that was that. I think yesterday might have actually put him off a little. I won't be trying that one again. When Steve changed his nappy ready for bed it was absolutely saturated - the little owl seems to have been very reluctant to pee all day, and once back in the safety of his nappy, just flooded it. When he's ready again, he's ready and he can lead the way next time.

Funny things from today:
* Ben doing nosedives and faceplants over Steve's legs while watching Total Wipeout
* Ben putting a woven shopping basket on my head and trying to get me to put a shopping bag on my face as a nosebag. And then Steve not helping, by saying mummy's not got a horseface, Ben. Ben: "mummy horse face!!" Thanks, Steve.
* Ben being an owl.
* Ben not wanting to stop watching Top Gear to go and have dinner. "NO dinner, Ben watch cars helicopters!" After he'd finished his dinner, he cleaned (sort of) his hands up and pushed his plate away: "Ben finished, watch cars helicopters?" So hopeful.

We also got a little bit more done in his bedroom while he slept. Started cutting in round the ceiling, got the caulk on along the edge of the mantlepiece, did another coat of gloss around the door frame. It's getting there. We need to be so much more strict on ourselves to get moving again on the house. The aim is to have Ben's room and the back bedroom finished by summer - and us moved in to the back bedroom permanently. And hopefully the bathroom finished as well by then. Not too much to ask, if we're strict and don't let apathy get a hold again.

Funny really. I'm in a really good place at the moment. I don't think my mum realised how much it meant when she commented that I took really gorgeous photos of Ben. Both my parents are very talented photographers and I've always felt a kind of need to prove myself as a result. When mum said that it was like a release - I didn't need to prove myself any more. I was thinking about this the other day and realised that in a lot of areas I don't feel any need to prove myself to anyone any more. I'm comfortable in my own skin. I know who I am, I know what I can do, I know what things I want to do and I know that some of those things are for now and some are for later. I don't need to wear makeup every day: I can apply it fairly competently but am happy not to wear any at all. I can dress up, I can dress down. I still have paint on my jeans from Ben's handsplat on Thursday. My house is undecorated and unswept but full of love.

I wish it was a little more decorated though...

Which reminds me of something...

"A roof to keep out the rain. Four walls to keep out the wind. Floors to keep out the cold. Yes, But home is more than that. It is the laugh of a baby, the song of a mother, the strength of a father. Warmth of loving hearts, light from happy eyes, kindness, loyalty, comradeship. Home is first school, and first church for young ones, where they learn what is right, what is good, and what is kind. Where they go for comfort when they are hurt or sick. Where joy is shared and sorrow eased. Where fathers and mothers are respected and loved. Where children are wanted. Where the simplest food is good enough for kings because it is earned. Where money is not so important as loving-kindness. Where even the teakettle sings from happiness. That is home. God bless it."
--Ernestine Schuman-Heink

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.