The second half of life..

By twigs

Deception

Wow! What a night!!

I woke in the middle of the night to check to see the state of the skies but I didn't really have to even get out of bed to find out - the rain was coming down and the wind was blowing pretty hard so I simply went back to sleep.

At around 6.30 I was woken by the wind.......and boy, was it howling. By 7.30 the gusts were heavy enough to make the whole cabin reverberate to the point that I even wondered whether I'd get blown away!! I don't think I've ever been in such powerful winds - or at least, not in such flimsy accommodation, in such heavy winds.

The rain continued and it continued to blow but as this was my last day here I had to pack up and leave. As I drove down the road I began to get a picture of just how much wind there'd been - branches, leaves and debris all over the place, trees blown over and, when I got to Collingwood, evidence of damage to structures - at least one house had had some of its roof blown off which had caused the powers that be to close the road down (something I found mildly amusing seeing as there are only about 3 roads in Collingwood so when one of them is closed.........!!!)

Anyway, this shot is from taken along the beach front at Colingwood - don't be misled by the blue skies! It was still howling a gale although it's kind of hard to see that from the shot. Even the seagulls were staying grounded rather than risking the skies!

Back to work tomorrow, in earnest. The new school year begins here.

Bye bye holidays :(



Back blips here if you're interested:

Beach bum
The one that got away







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.