dogwithnobrain

By dogwithnobrain

You keep playin' where you shouldn't be playin

So, this morning I managed to have a chat with my son, (3.5k miles away), get out of bed, wash, dry and straighten my hair, and put make up on and get out of the house well in time for my train.

Sadly however, I did not get my shoes on the right feet.

My husband said "when did you notice?".

"Erm, as I walked along the path and my feet were pointing out the way, and I was walking like a farmer".

I corrected it as soon as I got to work, but this isn't the only mistake I've made with my footwear.

For a while I temped at an office about 70 miles away. Whilst I toddled around the office during the day in heels, when I climbed in to the car for the drive home, I would kick my shoes off and leave them in the back for me to grab in the morning.

One morning however, I was driving up, and was about 40 miles from home, when I suddenly remembered the previous evening that I had stopped at the shops, worn my shoes into the shop, kept them on, and taken them into the house with my feet.

I glanced in the back seat. Nope. No shoes. I was 45 miles from home with no shoes.

I got to work early, which was good, and parked as close to the building as was possible. I got in the lift and received the first of a few odd glances as I stood there shorter than normal in bare feet.

And that pretty much was the way the rest of my day went. People looked at my height, down to my feet and say "where are your shoes".

"I forgot them", I would say. No one could understand how I could forget my shoes. Everyone thought it was the funniest thing ever. When I left the building in the evening I had an audience. I seriously think they thought I was kidding and would put my shoes on when I got to the door, but no. I tiptoed through the car park, climbed in the car, and banged my head of the steering wheel several times, and set off.

When I left the office a few weeks later after my contract was complete, one of my going away presents was a pair of flipflops for me to carry with me, just in case I "forgot" my shoes at the next place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.