The way I see it.

By christinePears

Oystercatchers

It was a brisk cold day today with little sunshine and a strong wind. I took a quick trip to the beach at lunchtime and was delighted to find some oystercatchers posing along the waterline. On my way down the beach a strange dog bounded up to me and tried to climb up my legs -twice! It's owner appeared oblivious. I like dogs but not strange ones approaching at speed who then deposit sand all over my work clothes - OK rant over!

One thing that I love about blipping is that I get to have a much closer look at wildlife in the comfort of my home once downloaded and up on my screen. I never realised that oystercatchers had such big strong bills and on further research discovered that it is for smashing and prying open the shells of molluscs. They also probe the sand for an assortment of worms.

It was delightful to watch them feed, totally unconcerned about the odd wave washing over them. The one on the left has just emerged from under a wave. I was able to enjoy the rest of my short time with them unmolested by any other dogs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.