The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Foulshaw Moss reflections

Foulshaw Moss, Cumbria

I had a quick trip out to Foulshaw Moss at lunchtime. I was hoping to find some new bird species for the year, but I drew a blank. There are usually redpolls in the birches and alders, but not today. There's always a chance of a hen harrier hunting over the bog, but this time I wasn't lucky.

This is the viewing platform built by the Cumbria Wildlife Trust. It provides elevated views over the huge raised bog that is gradually being restored to an active state. In Sunday's blip, I mentioned the planting by the Forestry Commission of the the limestone hill of Whitbarrow which looms above Foulshaw. Foulshaw was another one of their misadventures, they drained and planted it with conifers that were doomed to never produce any timber of particular value.

The Wildlife Trust have been removing the conifers, blocking the drains and encouraging the return of the typical bog plants and animals. I will come back in the Spring to feature some of the plants and dragonflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.