Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

A Valentine Foreshadowing

Lunch time found me zooming home to check on Chloe. This morning, and tomorrow for that matter, she is understanding the definition of "Home Alone." While I was home for a brief 40 minutes, I ran upstairs to grab my favorite book of Valentine poems that I had purchased in a bookstore in Pacific Grove in Monterey Bay two years ago. I love the season of Valentines. The past two Februarys, I have enjoyed the book immensely.

So I opened the book this afternoon here in the Writing Center and a stash of previously received Valentine cards fell out. Casually I opened the envelopes and re-read the cards, and then I came to this one that I've photographed which was mailed to me by grand-daughter Ashly in 2009. I sat here silently staring at it.

This little pup in a purse looks so much like Chloe, our new pup who joined us December 26. The pup on the card has fur more like a Westie, and Chloe's is more Wire-haired Terrier, but all in all the similarities are remarkable. So when I first saw it, I was a little stunned and a little amused. I could write volumes of thoughts, but I fear that someone would read the boring stuff; so I won't.

I'm thrilled to be starting the season of Valentine's celebrating, and I will be sharing some poems from my favorite Valentine's poetry book. I probably even share a photo or two of Miss Chloe -- she's just so much fun and just two cute not to share her.

The magical moment for "going home" is arriving. So,
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

P.S. Today is my step-dad's birthday. Pop's has had an immense influence on my life and I'll forever be grateful for the way he cared, provided, and loved me through all the years of my life, especially my teenage rebellious years. I was going to write about him today, but the words never came. If you want to read my thoughts about the best step-dad in the whole world, just take a look here at what I wrote last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.