Skip's Blips

By Skip

A first time for everything!

I am blipping this sweet little bird tonight because...for the first time...a titmouse flew down, perched on my hand, and flew off with a peanut. Titmice aren't as social as the little chickadees who now regularly eat out of my hand, but these little guys must have been taking lessons from the chickadees. I was holding out my hand with a palm full of peanuts as the chickadees swooped down to help themselves to a tasty treat, and then, after several aborted attempts, the titmouse joined the chickadees in their game. To my delight, this went on for quite a while.

Meanwhile, watching from a few feet away was this little lady . She licked her lips and gazed hungrily at the peanuts when I held them out in her direction, but she didn't come closer until I put a handful on the ground and backed away. Then it didn't take her long to gobble them down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.