Making Tracks

In the same way that some drugs taken to counteract the ravages of Parkinson's disease have been known to make a man turn into a gambler, so it was that the stong painkillers which mine host gave to me this morning to counteract my foot pain, turned me into the last of the big spenders.

I am now the proud owner of a Barbour jacket and hood which gives me slight touch of 'county' and a much lighter purse.

Unfortunately the pills had absolutely no effect on my foot, ruling out any walks in the area.

Our hosts did have a long slippery 'Seven bridges' walk on icy paths. It seems winter has returned up here, with all its irritations and limitations of slush and ice on all but the main roads.

However the views are magnificent with the grey leaden sky enhancing the snowy hills and the dark forests.
The small copses of birch trees in a stretch of the Ballater to Banchory road reminded me of my images I have in a mind of Siberia, their silver trunks standing tall and gaunt in the snow.

And so back to the warmth and cheer of our hosts house and hot tea and cakes. The watching what we eat has had a rest for these few days.

Making tracks tomorrow, back to Edinburgh, normality and hopefully a lunch meeting with the blippers at the Mosque.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.