Sweet Potato Sky

By sweetpotatosky

Earl Grey and Lavender Cupcakes

Tonight I made the above cupcakes for a friend of a friend to cheer her up a little. They're Earl Grey cupcakes with frosting with a touch of lavender. Apparently she tasted them when when I made some for my friend and really loved them so I've made her a batch as she's going through a bit of a hard time.

For some reason I can't stop the cupcakes going a little dry though. It's not something I've had with any other flavour so have to assume that the tea is doing something chemically that is sooking up some of the moisture. I'm worried to mess with the recipe in case it makes them go gooey. It could be the sugar so i'm going to try something a little different next time. The recipe calls for caster sugar but I think I'll maybe try confectioners or granulated next time - or maybe even try Darjeeling tea to see if it makes a difference.

Its all about experimenting. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.