Music to my Ears

Although geared up for a dreich day as forecast by the new babe on the block weather forecaster yesterday evening, today was like a touch of spring although maybe a tad nippy.

There was enough bright light from earlier than usual to fool us into believing that we might have begun the winter exit and provide us with a little more joie de vivre.

I sallied forth for a get together with a schoolfriend who happens to live almost next door to our old castle.

It was strange turning into the road and seeing all the old familiar sights.
It seemed nothing much had changed since we left, the potholes on the road were still in place, and the houses seemed unaffected by the passage of six months.
Even the castle looked as though I could walk up the path and let myself in and everything would be the same.

Except I knew it couldn't be and I found that strangely unsettling. It was like putting on a well loved old jersey that I hadn't worn for some time and finding I couldn't fit it.

I wonder if I will ever really distance myself from that well loved home however much I love the Dower House. It was so much a part of me and the growing family for so long, that its very essence is burned into my soul.
I suppose I found it unexpected that I could feel so at home in the area while not living there any more.

Ou coffee together touched on many subjects:- the I-phone, syncing with a computer, computer memory, DNA, genes, chromosomes, house letting, gardening,neighbours, dogs and travel.

Obviously a wide ranging and eclectic coverage of essential knowledge for a today's woman.

My friend has a musical bent and this blip is of the keys on one of her two clarsachs.

I must say there is nothing like a clarsach to add a bit of musical culture to the corner of a room and they take up so much less space than the fashion statement of a grand piano.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.